From the Top!

I’ve been aching to post all about my Journey to the Andes in Peru.  Finally, I have gotten some sort of order to the roughly 5000 photos and videos that I took!

So taking it from the top…

I left Los Angeles on November 9th.   It was an incredibly clear day and we headed south along the coast line towards my connection in Dallas.  I am pretty sure that the AA on the wingtip stands for Alpaca Air… well, that or maybe American Airlines. 🙂

Heading south along the California Coast.

Heading south along the California Coast.

SAM_0975

It was a whirlwind to make the connection whereupon I fell asleep and the next thing I knew I was in Lima Peru at about 1am their time.  Fortunately, my small overnight hotel was right at the airport… literally, across a walkway so after going through Peruvian Customs and Immigration I went up an escalator, walked across the little walkway bridge and checked into my hotel around 2am … I had to be up later that morning at 7am.

Greeting me as I left the plane on my way to baggage claim.

Greeting me as I left the plane on my way to baggage claim.  They are right! Peru is a Magical Place!

I met up with my group in the lobby of the hotel at 8am and we got all our luggage and headed back over to the airport to check in for our flight to Cusco… 11,000 feet above sea level in the heart of the Andes Mountains.  There are many flights going up to Cusco every day.  Among our luggage we had some other travelers in their own special containers.

I was very excited with our destination so close!

I was very excited with our destination so close!

These contain very special Roosters.  I didn't inquire about their purpose, but they were very nice to show us.  The owners were very amused by how interested we were.  There had to have been a largish show going on as there were a number of people in line with roosters.

These contain very special Roosters. I didn’t inquire about their purpose, but they were very nice to show us. The owners were very amused by how interested we were. There had to have been a largish show going on as there were a number of people in line with roosters.

SAM_0986 SAM_0987

Pretty soon we were on board the plane.  I did not get a window seat, but people on both sides (one side were French Tourists) (the other side of me were Peruvians) were very kind and snapped a few shots with my little camera from the window.  So here are some shots of my first view of the Andes.

It is hard to appreciate how beautiful they are and how different from the mountains I have seen in the States.  But I hope these few pictures will give you an idea.

It is hard to appreciate how beautiful they are and how different from the mountains I have seen in the States. But I hope these few pictures will give you an idea.

SAM_0994 SAM_1014 SAM_1016 SAM_1017 SAM_1019 SAM_1027

LANDED in Cusco!!!!   This was our aircraft.  I am finding the light here to be very beautiful.  Remember, I am just south of the Equator, but not by much and I also very high up.

So we gathered our luggage (great luggage helpers here.. they really know how to stack baggage and I am discovering that traveling with a small group is fun.. I like having other people help with the bags)  The airport itself seemed large, but there were so many many people that it felt small.  Lots and lots of booths offering tours !  Tourism is a major industry here.

The luggage of 15 people (about 22 pieces) fit on two of these trolleys!

The luggage of 15 people (about 22 pieces) fit on two of these trolleys!

SAM_1030 SAM_1031 SAM_1033 SAM_1034We were met at the airport by both Marta from CTTC (Center for Traditional Textiles of Cusco) and Edgar from our tour company.  The bus was late to get us.  But I really didn’t mind.  I was soaking up being in Peru!

My first real action in Peru and in the Andes in particular was Spinning.  I got out my spindle and started spinning.  I was so happy!

My first real action in Peru and in the Andes in particular was Spinning. I got out my spindle and started spinning. I was so happy!

SAM_1040

There I was spinning when there was a tap on my shoulder and this gentleman wanted to try my spindle.. so he turned it into a bottom whorl and spun away… probably learned to do it as a child. It is a magical thing to transcend the spoken word for the sharing of a common activity. He was wonderful.

And then we were whisked away by a big big van or small small bus… Nilda’s husband had come to get us since our tour bus was late.  We arrived at our hotel very quickly.  Entering through a very large set of outer doors we found ourselves in a courtyard and there was the hotel’s resident weaver and one of her charges she had brought with her into town.

The sidewalk outside our hotel as we unload.

The sidewalk outside our hotel as we unload.

SAM_1048

Here is the resident weaver with her small charge.

SAM_1049

Well, of course! I had to drop my bags and sit down before anything else!

Yes,  I put in every lamb photo I had.  I really love sheep!  And don't worry... we will see baby sheep here again.

Yes, I put in every lamb photo I had. I really love sheep! And don’t worry… we will see baby sheep here again.

The happiness was everywhere.  A lamb in our hotel... could it be more perfect?

The happiness was everywhere. A lamb in our hotel… could it be more perfect?

I had found myself in the perfect place.

I had found myself in the perfect place.

And so I had arrived in Cusco and I was in a very happy place!   We met and had tea in the lounge, then we went to our rooms to wash up and we met downstairs… We couldn’t rest… We had to be off !  Our first trip was to the CTTC… Center for Traditional Textiles of Cusco.  (but, that is for the next post!) 🙂

3 responses to “From the Top!

  1. I’m so glad you’re sharing your trip with us. Love looking at all the pictures. Sheep at the hotel. Definitely something to put on the bucket list. A trip of a lifetime.

More Fiber, Better! Reply here:

